Death of a Loved One:

Several stages of sorrow are experienced following the death of a loved one. Levels of mourning may differ from person to person but the fundamental stages are normal and documented. It may help to know what to expect while going through the grieving process. The first step is listed below.

  • Denial:  Shock and disbelief are initial feelings that follow the death of a loved one. You will feel numb and unable to believe the death is real. This stage may last for a short time, or an extended period of time. Hours and days will run together as the mind tries to process the facts of what has happened. The disbelief that’s felt can become overwhelming while you struggle through this stage.

Book: It’s My Time to Grieve

It's My Time to Grieve


About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on under her name.
This entry was posted in Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for your interest!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s