Tuesday’s Treasure

TREASURES

“It is more blessed to give than to receive” (Acts 20:35)( NIV)

“This is so fun.” Marissa’s excitement brought more attention than planned as she scampered to the table at the far side of the yard. “I just love having yard sales.”

After weeks of collecting toys and clothing she’d outgrown, Marissa was expecting to make lots of money at her family’s yard sale.

“But why aren’t my clothes selling?” She looked directly at her mother. Disappointment was written all over her face.

“I don’t know,” her mother replied. “Everything else seems to be selling. Just give it some time.”

“But we don’t have much left to sell except my clothes.” Marissa let out a long sigh. “I don’t understand. I wanted to make some money.”

“Look,” her mother said as a lady and small girl walked into the yard. “More customers.”

“Good. Maybe I can sell my things,” Marissa said to herself.

“I’m looking for shoes for my little girl,” the lady said as she fumbled through Marissa’s outgrown shoes. She glanced at her daughter. “Here, try these on,” she said to the girl.

“They fit perfectly,” the girl said as she admired her feet. She was grinning from ear to ear.“Can I have that pink dress too?”

“I only have enough money for shoes,” the lady said. “I’m sorry, honey.”

Marissa stared at the sad girl. Then she started putting all her used clothing in a box. “Take these,” she said.“You can have them all. The shoes too.”

Marissa’s mom joined the group. “Now I think our yard sale’s over.“ She smiled at the lady. “I’m so glad you came. These clothes should fit your little girl perfectly.”

Later that afternoon as Marissa sat on the porch she remembered a Bible verse she’d recently learned.

She jumped up and ran inside to find her mother. “Mom,” she said excitedly. “The Bible says I’m blessed because I gave my old clothes to that girl. Is that why I feel so good inside?”

©.2012 Phoebe Leggett

Visit me online at www.phoebe-leggett.com

~

www.phoebe.leggett.com

www.SurvivorDynamics.wordpress.com

http://devokids.com/category/food/

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for your interest!

