Grief, Sorrow, and Trust

“But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works” (Psalms 73:28)

It’s hard letting go of a loved one—be it to the military, a school trip, or simply when they move away as a young adult. Speaking as a mother, I’ve learned the only way to survive is by asking Jesus to hold that loved one close in His arms of mercy, protection, and security. He alone is the answer to our desires.

Moms worry about everything concerning their kids. I know I do. Even though mine are now their thirties, I continue to pray God’s protection over them, realizing I can do nothing on my own. Many times my prayers were answered, as death was averted. Other times disaster was avoided as God stepped in and saved the day. Faith in what we cannot see, but believe, will see us through to the other side of our prayers.

Even so, my youngest was killed in a car crash over eight years ago. This devastation has been a true test of my faith, yet I’ve kept the faith, realizing whatever happens, all is in God’s hands. As hard as it sometimes is, I still continue to trust in Jesus, the leader of my team.

And when I’m sinking back into a pit of despair, I simply say the name of Jesus. He then lifts me up, holds me in His loving arms, and wipes away my tears. He also blocks the oppressor, forgives my disbelief, and stabilizes my feelings of abandonment.

God, the giver of peace, hope, and renewal, opens his arms wide for those who need it most. And who doesn’t need a hug now and then?

It’s impossible to shed our feelings of hopelessness, dejection, and anguish on our own. We need an anchor in our storm to stabilize us and give us hope. That anchor is Jesus.

How about you? Do you have feelings of despair, anger, or loss? If so, do you know Jesus? He will be your anchor if asked.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose (Romans 8:28).

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net and jannoon028.

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Grief, Life on the Edge. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for your interest!

