End of the Road

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:28, 29 NIV

I’d been told many times I need healing. To be cured from my despair, my anger, and my hurts.
But I wasn’t receptive. The hurt just went too deep. After all, I was the one in control. I could handle it. Those offenses were part of who I was.

Medicine didn’t worked. Well, it helped for the short-haul. But long-term it was just another crutch—an addiction without a cure.

I was tired. And I was weary. My strength was gone. My will to live was also dying. The never-ending road ahead was full of curves and potholes, and I was just too tired for the journey.
What could I do now? I was at the end of the road, ready to jump off a bridge, to end it all and be done with life. What else was left? I was out of options.

Stuck in a rut, weathered, and exhausted, I struggled with my decision.

As a last resort, I picked up my Bible. But when the book opened, words of healing jumped off the page and dropped into my spirit. Come unto me and I will give you rest.

What did that mean?
Reading further I found the answer.

Give it to God. Hand it all to God. Release the pain, the hurt, the anger. Let it rest on the shoulders of the One who’s big enough to carry it.

Release it, and let it go.

And, I did.

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Grief, Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End of the Road

  1. sascmp54@verizon.net says:

    I guess I keep letting go and taking it back. It’s not easy. I can’t help but be angry sometimes, but I know to let it go because it doesn’t do any good. You just become a bitter, angry person.

    Cathy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Thanks for your interest!

