Seasons of Life

Fall foilege

When my son was killed in a car crash in 2004, I was devastated. But shortly following the news, I sat down at my computer and composed this poem. Everything damaging in my life then converged, but this event was the most damaging of all.

The seasons of my life
Some good, some not so nice
Have not been without tears
And many days of strife

Early years uneventful
And many just routine
But things most would enjoy
Were not mine it would seem

The middle years quite busy
With play and work and school
The farm my family owned
Hard work required–the rule

The teenage years went fast
With many things demanding
I tried to plan my future
But without understanding

Next season of my life
My marriage a mistake
Abuse now ruled the day
Twelve years it would then take

The hurt and pain it caused
Betrayal then came next
Divorced, and now alone
And single was the text

But happy in my life
My children were the joy
With hope renewed again
Real treasures-girl, two boys

Next season brings more joy
True love at last I  find
To help me through this life
His love, one of a kind

And then my kids were grown
And doing their own thing.
But things were upside down
Not quite what I had dreamed

For my son, my youngest son
In a car crash lost his life
At the age of twenty-two
This stabbed my heart like a knife

What will I do? What will I say?
How will I react on a normal day?
Will the pain recede and lose its grip?
Or will it never go away?

My heart it aches-it hurts so bad.
The pain is so severe
My eyes so red – the tears won’t stop.
My mind so full, and will not clear

Although I know God’s in control
As I lay down for the night
In my heart I’ll always know
Things will never be quite right

© Phoebe Leggett

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

A time to be born, and a time to die…” (Ecclesiastes 3: 2,4)

Read my story. Book available on Amazon.com

BookCoverImage new

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Grief, Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for your interest!

