Outrageous Emotions

102317314I was angry. I was incensed. I was outraged.

Why had this happened? My son was dead. Why him? Why now?

These emotions, and more, followed the car crash that ended my son Matthew‘s life in 2004.

But how does one go on following this type of devastation?

Death Is Part of Life

The wonder of birth comes in groupings; and so does death. An old cliché claims it happens in clusters of three.

Perhaps the ebb and flow of life has a rhythm after all. But when it happens more frequently, it becomes very personal, and tragic.

When neighborhoods empty, and the older ones slip away; or family members pass, the reality of death can be overwhelming.

Sometimes it isolates; other times it brings us together.

However, we have no choice but to take the good with the bad. That’s the reality of life.

A former sister-in-law passed away in March. She was 62 and died of cancer. An aunt, my mother’s last sister, passed about a month ago. She was 86. Not to mention celebrities, sports figures, children, babies, and other well-known persons are also dying. There’s no rhyme or reason to age at time of death. It just happens when the time comes.

When dying is all around us, the world seems tighter. But when it’s one of our own, it’s double tragic.

God, however, understands our heartache, and leaves us a message from the Bible that is encouraging, and exceptional.

We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed— (1 Corinthians 4:8-9)

BookCoverImage new

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Grief, Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outrageous Emotions

  1. Cathy Pendola says:

    You have spoken about what has been on my mind lately. I have lost so many people the last few years that I find myself in a state of fear at times. I don’t know what to do except pray. The older I get, the scarier it becomes. So many people in my own neighborhood have either died or moved away. I feel left behind. I wish I could call my mom and dad and ask them how they handled this time in life. I see my nieces and nephews with their kids growing up and I remember when I was that young mother. I want to start over! This post brought up a lot of feelings for me. Take care.

    Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Thanks for your interest!

