Life Beyond Foliage

“And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free” (John 8:32) (KJV)

Excerpt from book It’s my Time to Grieve by Phoebe Leggett

BookCoverImage new

“…there is hope for a tree: If it is cut down, it will sprout again, and its new shoots will not fail” (Job 14: 7)

Grinning from ear to ear, my vivacious teenage son shoved a dish garden full of tiny shriveled plants into my hands. “Here Mom, these are for you,” he said. “The store manager threw them away. I thought you might want them.”

But the plants were so withered I had serious doubts they would survive. Still, Matt had given them to me; so I drenched them with water and hoped for the best.

To my amazement and his delight, a little attention triggered those dying plants to sprout new leaves. Vibrant foliage was soon growing from all five. Lush greenery now filled my kitchen with the freshness of life.

A vast amount of time has passed since those special plants were given to me. Rivers of tears have streamed beneath life’s bridge. Matthew was killed in a car crash over ten years ago.

But some of the plants he insisted I take are still alive, and growing. When I look at the fullness of their beauty, I realize my son continues to exist.

There is hope for our reunion because life never ends. It just transplants to another place.

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Grief, Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for your interest!

