Death, Grief, and Sorrow-Memorial Day 2016

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“When I was in distress, I sought the Lord; at night I stretched out untiring hands and my soul refused to be comforted” (Psalms 77:2)

“Weeping may endure for a night but joy comes in the morning” (Psalms 30:5)

Excerpt from book It’s my Time to Grieve by Phoebe Leggett

Losing my Parents

Both my parents were devout Christians, but raised their children with a firm hand.

My father was the first to pass. He was eighty-years-old, and died of cancer. He was buried at the Veterans Cemetery in honor of his military service. My mother passed away eleven years later, and is now buried with him.

They both lived through the depression era but refused to talk about it. My father served the military in both Army and Navy during World War II.

As a sailor, he was shipwrecked and dumped into the ocean. Although he survived the cold and murky darkness of the water amid serious threats of shark attacks, he was forever changed. After the war, he remained edgy, nervous, and tense. Over time, he was unable to work a public job; and became a full-time farmer.

The relationship with my father was minimal. He didn’t want children, and was aloof and distant during my childhood. Although he required hard labor from his family on the farm, his input into my raising, other than teaching me the word of God, was almost non-existent. Before he died he managed to say he loved me, although it was a struggle.

My mother read Bible stories and other books to me when I was small. But she loved the Bible best. Over time her health deteriorated. Her last two years were spent in a nursing home. She died of a heart attack at the age of eighty-six.  Her life was long, and evidence that loving God had been her priority.

Both parents were strict in both action and deed. But, they taught me the word of God, and lived it. Because of them I am a Christian today.

Honor your father and mother—which is the first commandment with a promise—that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth”  (Ephesians 6:2)

The Epitaph on their gravestones is a reminder of their devout faith.

Resting from my labored past (his)

Home in Jesus’ arms at last (hers)

BookCoverImage It's My Time to GrieveTo order: www.amazon.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Visit my other website: www.vowsandlies.wordpress.com

 

 

About Phoebe Leggett

Phoebe Leggett is an author, poet, and free-lance writer whose articles, stories, and poetry have enhanced the lives of many. In 2007 she received two awards for her work at the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writer’s Conference in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Her articles, stories, and poetry have been published in adult and children’s Christian literature as well as online. Her books are available on Amazon.com under her name.
This entry was posted in Grief, Life on the Edge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Death, Grief, and Sorrow-Memorial Day 2016

  1. Alison Pressley says:

    That was great…. thanks for sharing

    Like

Thanks for your interest!

